Detestable girl, but I require tea

Last night I went to see the latest production of The Importance of Being Earnest at the Vaudeville Theatre.

 334039316.gif

My expectations were high, and they were met.  Several of the “lesser attractions” of the show – the larger being its reputation as one of Oscar Wilde’s finest, and a starring role for Penelope Keith –  proved to be real successes.   Particularly Daisy Haggard‘s spoilt-yet-sweet portrayal of Gwendolyn Fairfax, which entertained, heart-warmed, and charmed.  Combined with spot-on delivery of Wilde’s excellent wordplay, it was exactly my sort of comedy.

Perhaps no surprise, then, that the show  – particularly the exchanges between Algie and Jack – reminded me a lot of my favourite comedy show, A Bit of Fry and Laurie.  No surprise, perhaps, as the pair have made Wilde’s influence quite clear.  In fact, I could have seen Hugh playing the part of Algernon.  It was witty and urbane, and I’m sure fitting for a Soupy Twist.

(I’m no good at theatre reviews.  But it was awesome and you should see it!  Take advantage of the offer lastminute.com have on – see the link in the sidebar.)

Leave a comment

Filed under comment, culture, London

Leave a Reply

